Columbus Metropolitan Library


Celebration of Learning

Celebration of Learning is the library’s only fundraising event and we need you. With community support, we can adapt our services to meet the changing needs of our customers: assisting our neighbors struggling to find work, supporting students in their efforts to learn and providing access to help narrow the digital divide. We depend on contributions made to this event to help make our critical work possible, and we thank you for in advance for joining us.

Save the Date: Friday, November 5

She is the acclaimed author of over 30 books for children and young adults including Brown Girl Dreaming, a novel in verse about Woodson’s family and segregation in the South, which won the National Book Award and the Newbery Honor Award. Woodson is also the recipient of a 2020 MacArthur Genius Award, the Hans Christian Andersen Award, and the Coretta Scott King Award … just to name a few. This Columbus born storyteller will delight and inspire.



Individual Society

2020 Celebration of Learning Committee

John Behal
DeeDee Glimcher

Committee Members:
Lauren Bonfield
Barbara Brandt
Laney Burgdoerfer
Darci Congrove
Mary Jo Conte
Sue Cooper
Melanie DeAscentis
Barbara Derrow
Sandy Doyle-Ahern
Marjorie Duffy

Scott Gaines
Diane Garland
Tracy Harrison
Charlotte Kessler
Gale King
Patrick King
Wayne Lawson
Vicki Linville
Victoria Losinski
Jennifer McNally
Katharine Moore

Lynne Redgrave
Corde Westwater Robinson
Renée Shumate
Barbara Siemer
Sheila Smith
Catherine Strauss
Hope Wolman
Ed Yen
Ellen Yen

Many Thanks to Our 2020 Supporters





ABC 6/FOX 28/CW Columbus


Bricker & Eckler LLP

Central Ohio Transit Authority

Crane Group

Encova Insurance


Heidelberg Distributing Co.

M/I Homes Foundation


The Robert Weiler Company


Thompson Hine

Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP


Baker & Taylor

Buckeye Interactive

Columbus State Community College



Fifth Third Bank

Fullen Financial Group

GBQ Partners


IGS Energy

Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams

Moody Nolan

NAI Ohio Equities

New Albany Community Foundation

The New Albany Company

Porter Wright Morris & Arthur LLP


Stifel Public Finance

White Castle Systems, Inc.

2020 Celebration of Learning Society Members

Deshler Society

  • George Barrett
  • Sandra Doyle-Ahern & Michael Ahern
  • Marilu and Tim Faber
  • Deborah Neimeth
  • Lynne and Martyn Redgrave
  • Sarah and Mark Ryan
  • Meara and Matt Scantland

Noble Society

  • Barbara & Philip Derrow
  • Rhonda & Charlie Fraas
  • DeeDee & Herb Glimcher
  • Mary Lazarus
  • Nancy & Tom Lurie
  • Jordan Miller
  • Corde Westwater Robinson
  • Paul Smith, Jr.
  • Colleen Nissl & Roger Sugarman

Pugh Society

  • John Behal & Jim Elliott
  • Lauren Bonfield & Stephen Keyes
  • Alison Circle & Riccardo Ruotolo
  • Elizabeth & Robert Fox
  • Maria & Tim Frommeyer
  • Carol Andreae & James Garland
  • Lisal & Don Gorman
  • Ann & Tom Hoaglin
  • Mary & Tom Katzenmeyer
  • Charlotte & Jack Kessler
  • John N. Larrimer MD
  • Jane Mykrantz & Kiehner Johnson
  • Mary & Luis Navarro
  • Ann & Ron Pizzuti
  • Kathryne & Kevin Reeves
  • Lane & John Rothschild
  • Seanna & Matthew Walter

Carnegie Society

  • Jane and Stan Ackley
  • Eleanor Alvarez and Jerry Rosenberg
  • Randy Arndt and Jeff Baker
  • Ellen and Jim Bachmann
  • Nancy and Burton Bardus
  • Chief Chukwuemeka Ben Bosah and Ngozi Osuagwu, MD
  • Eleanor and Adam Brandt
  • Barbara and David Brandt
  • Kate and John Brody
  • Laney Burgdoerfer
  • Katie and Geoff Chatas
  • The Christopher Foundation
  • Mary Jo Conte
  • Sue Cooper
  • Lisa and Tom Courtice
  • Charlie Dankworth
  • Melanie and Mike DeAscentis
  • Gregg Dodd
  • Marjorie Duffy and Mike Gladman
  • Shaunessy Everett
  • Christine and Thomas Farquhar
  • Bebe and John Finn
  • Joanne and David Frantz
  • Gigi and Sam Fried
  • Kathryn and Scott Gaines
  • Diane and Kim Garland
  • Eydie and Donald Garlikov
  • Susan and William Gillam
  • Joy and Michael Gonsiorowski
  • Babette Gorman and Jack Buckingham
  • Linda and Bill Habig
  • Nedra Patison Hadley
  • Lauren Hagan and Jim Venetucci
  • Tracy and David Harrison
  • Marihelen Hatcher
  • Rachel and Jim Heine
  • Sheryl and Phil Heit
  • Patricia and Gregory Huddle
  • Wendy and Brian Jasper
  • Linda and Frank Kass
  • Gale King Kelly Ruoff and Patrick King
  • John S. and Catherine Chapin Kobacker
  • Monica and Doug Kridler
  • Midge and Tally Krumm
  • Wayne Lawson and Bill Mitchell
  • Lexie and Trip Lazarus
  • Vicki and Ron Linville
  • Victoria and Patrick Losinski
  • Cathy and Jeff Lyttle
  • Leslie and Kurt Malkoff
  • Jennifer McNally and Michael Flamm
  • Lauren and John Meier
  • Antoinette Mongillo and Scott Howson
  • Katharine Moore
  • Rebecca and Keith Nass
  • Debra and Brian Pack
  • Sharon and Bruce Peterson
  • Nadine and Keith Pierce
  • Sue and Mark Real
  • Achea and Michael Redd
  • Anne and Bill Remias
  • Nikki Scarpitti
  • David R. Schooler
  • Teckie and Don Shackelford
  • Renée and Alex Shumate
  • Laura and Jay Simonds
  • Lynne and Stephen Smith
  • Sheila and Gene Smith
  • Nancy Strause
  • Catherine Strauss and John Lowe
  • Jennifer and Ryan Swincicki
  • Thomas E. Szykowny and Susan M. Dulton
  • Susan Tomasky and Ronald Ungvarsky
  • Jennifer Massanova and Lou Von Thaer
  • Beatrice and Alan Weiler
  • Linda Larrimer and Hugh Westwater
  • Kathy and Alec Wightman
  • Hope Wolman
  • Ellen and Ed Yen
  • Donna and Lee Zuiderweg

Columbus Metropolitan Library Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) charitable organization.

96 S. Grant Ave. | Columbus, Ohio 43215