The Intern's Handbook
Shane Kuhn
March 24, 2014

New thriller writer on the scene and he has written a corker of a read!  Interns are usually invisible in companies.  So who better to train and deploy as assassins right?  They can get into the company, ingratiate themselves with the right people and when the moment comes, kill the target.   I think I read this book in about two sittings - hope this guy writes more!

The Mysterious Affair at Styles
Agatha Christie
March 17, 2014

Every now and then I go back and re-read old favorites.  Agatha Christie is a mystery writer who never lets me down. This book is the first in the Hercule Poirot series and was originally written in 1920.  Knowing how long ago this was written reminds me how Christie was ahead of her time crafting a well written puzzler of a book full of intrigue.  If you haven't read Christie, you are in for a treat. 

Precious Thing
Colette McBeth
March 10, 2014

Clara and Rachel have been friends since high school. Life intervened and they grew apart, so when Clara invites Rachel for drinks to catch up, it’s a chance to reconnect. But before that can happen, Rachel is called to cover a missing girl story, and the missing girl is Clara. Was she abducted, murdered or did she simply leave on her own? In the vein of Gone Girl and The Husband’s Secret, this is a fast read that is sure to entertain.

Lies of Locke Lamora
Scott Lynch
March 3, 2014

Looking for a good swashbuckling fantasy - try this book.  A band of tricksters led by the criminal Locke are con artists of the highest order.  This fresh take on the fantasy genre is filled with action, intrigue and had me reading through the night.  If you like the book, there are two more already published with another entry due this year.