Due to system maintenance, our website will be unavailable from the evening of Monday, April 21 to the morning of Tuesday, April 22. We apologize for the inconvenience. 

Favorite Reads from 2013
Robin Nesbitt
November 25, 2013

It's that time of year when best of lists are popping up all over the place - just in time for gift giving. Every year I look back at what I've read and compile a list of favorite reads.  The books on my list weren't all published in 2013 - just that I finally got around to reading them this year. Top of my list goes to The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt.  I share the list here in no particular order and hope you find something to enjoy!

End of Your Life Bookclub by Schwalbe

Salt, Sugar and Fat by Moss

The Age of Miracles by Walker

Brewster by Slouka

Gulp by Roach

Gun Guys by Baum

Going Boving by Bray

Life After Life by Atkinson

The Absolutist by Boyne

Rage Against the Dying by Kaye

The Rosie Project by Simsion

The Dinner by Koch

Fangirl by Rowell

Eleanor and Park by Rowell

Dad is Fat by Gaffigan

The Goldfinch by Tartt

Relish by Knisley

The Cuckoo's Calling by Galbraith

The Fifth Wave by Yancey

Orange is the New Black by Kerman

The Signature of All Things by Gilbert

 

 

 

Signature of All Things
Elizabeth Gilbert
November 18, 2013

You may recognize Elizabeth Gilbert's name from her last book, Eat, Pray, Love.  In this book, she takes a different tack and creates an engaging work of fiction.  The main character, Alma Whittaker, is a woman ahead of her time.  Born in 1800, she is a little girl more interested in science than dolls. Her parents encourage this by educating her to the utmost.  I really enjoyed this book as a look into science, lives of women during this time and characters who I cared about.  This book is ending up on several best of 2013 lists and I can see why. 

Swift Justice
Laura DiSilverio
November 9, 2013

I am a big fan of Sue Grafton's Kinsey Millhone series so I am always on the look for more books with independent minded female P.I.s.  Found a new series that fits the bill by Laura DiSilverio and Swift Justice is the first book in the series.  Featuring Charlotte "Charlie" Swift, she likes to work alone and so she hung out her own P.I. shingle after being an Air Force investigator.  Imagine her suprpise one day, when Gigi Goldman shows up announcing that she is Charlie's new partner and wants to learn the business.  A fun read for fans of Grafton and Evanovich.

Hothouse: The Art of Survival and the Survival of Art at America's Most Celebrated Publishing House
Boris Kachka
November 4, 2013

If you read a lot like I do, eventually you get interested in the publishers behind the great books you read.  Give this book a try if you are a book geek who likes the inside scoop on how various titles get published or edited.  Farrar, Straus and Giroux is a literary publisher who has brought to print authors like T. S. Eliot, Flannery O'Connor, Joan Didion, Philip Roth and more. They have published no less than 25 Nobel Prize winners as well.  Fascinating look at how a revered publishing house has stood the test of time.