Anna and the French Kiss
Stephanie Perkins
July 3, 2014

If you are looking for a fun summer read, try this book by Stephanie Perkins.  Set in Paris, we follow the life of Anna who has been sent to a boarding school for her senior year abroad. Who wouldn't love this? Not Anna, who has been looking forward to finishing school in Atlanta with all of her friends.  A nice coming of age tale filled with the sights and sounds of Paris.

The Chemistry of Death
Simon Beckett
June 24, 2014

As you may know from reading past blog posts, I am an avid mystery reader.  I am always thrilled when I find a new author to devour.  A colleague suggested Simon Beckett's books and I'm hooked.  Too bad there are only four in the series but I'm enjoying them nonetheless.  This is the first book in the series where we meet David Hunter who has escaped from London to rural Norfolk to get away from the tragedy that almost did him in.  When a corpse is found in the woods, he can no longer hide from his past and is dragged into solving a grisly crime spree.

Cheap Shot
Ace Atkins
June 17, 2014

I have been a fan of Robert Parker's Spenser novels for a long time.  Parker passed away a few years ago but Ace Atkins has taken up the helm and continues to write Spenser novels. Normally I shy away from novels written in the style of someone but these are pretty good.  If you haven't tried a Spenser novel, definitely start with the original Parker books. But if you are a Spenser fan and haven't yet read the ones written by Atkins, give them a try.  

Noggin
John Corey Whaley
June 9, 2014

Travis Coates was alive and then dead and now alive.  At some point, his head got chopped off and shoved into a freezer in Denver, Colorado. Five years later, it was reattached to some other guy’s body, and well, here he is. Despite all logic, he’s still 16 and everything and everyone around him has changed. That includes his bedroom, his parents, his best friend, and his girlfriend. Or maybe she’s not his girlfriend anymore? That’s a bit fuzzy too.  Great read for all ages!

 
The Rise & Fall of Great Powers
Tom Rachman
June 2, 2014

Yahoo, it's summer reading time!  Kick back and enjoy some good reads this summer and make sure you are signed up for our summer reading club.  Great prizes for all!  This book is by one of my favorite authors and features Tooly Zylberberg.  Her life is less than ordinary because as a little girl, she was involved in capers around the globe. Now as an adult she is puzzling together her past after receiving an urgent summons in her dusty bookshop in Wales. This one keeps you guessing until the end and a fine read for fans of Donna Tartt, Joshua Ferris or David Mitchell.

The Shelf: From LEQ to LES: Adventures in Extreme Reading
Phyllis Rose
May 19, 2014

Calling all book nerds! What a great read - Rose picks a shelf at the New York Society Library and works her way through it. Lovely essays about books, libraries,writers and fiction. My kind of read for sure.