Fuzzy Mud
By:
Louis Sachar
August 24, 2015
Reviewed by: Kris

A quick, inventive read for middle schoolers. Tamaya and Marshall walk to school together every day but after they deal with a bully, they decide to go through the creepy woods. Something is lurking there that is more dangerous than any monster they can imagine. Things go from bad to worse when they get lost and the bully finally comes looking for them. Then the government gets involved and things get really crazy. This story is mostly about friendship with plenty of action and will appeal to both boys and girls.

The Art of Asking
By:
Amanda Palmer
August 21, 2015
Reviewed by: Kristin

Amanda Palmer has built a career around asking, from her time spent as a street performer to successfully funding an album on Kickstarter. In this book, she shares what she’s learned along the way. She also happens to be married to Neil Gaiman, and there are lots of great stories about their relationship included. This one is EXCELLENT on audio. Amanda Palmer reads her own work, and she has a very soothing voice. She has also included some of her music in breaks between the chapters! The sort of book you will want to tell others to read so that you can chat about it.

Leviathan Wakes
By:
James Corey
August 18, 2015
Reviewed by: Robin

If you are a fan of space operas, this is the series for you. Even if you aren't a huge SF reader, may want to read this one as the SyFy channel is bringing this to the small screen in December. The Expanse series begins with this book, Leviathan Wakes and we meet Jim Holden and his crew. This book was a Hugo Award Nominee for Best Novel (2012), Locus Award Nominee for Best Science Fiction Novel (2012), Audie Award Nominee for Science Fiction (2012), and The Reading List Genre Awards for Science Fiction (2012). I really enjoyed the first one and have devoured the second one as well.

Without You, There is No Us
By:
Suki Kim
August 15, 2015
Reviewed by: Chrissie

In the insightful book Without You There is No Us, Suki Kim chronicles her teaching experience in North Korea. She attempts to find out what the young men she teaches really know about North Korea’s relationship to the rest of the world without attracting attention from her handlers. This is a personal experience for Kim; her own family was separated during the Korean War. Kim’s account is insightful and packs an emotional punch.

Slam!
By:
Walter Dean Myers
August 12, 2015
Reviewed by: Lindsay

His name is Greg Harris, but everybody calls him Slam, and Slam can hoop. When he’s on the court everything falls into place. He sees all the patterns. He knows all the right moves. However, off the court Slam is not as sure footed. Teachers are on him, his teammates don’t trust him, and his best friend may be getting into some bad stuff. Despite his struggles, Slam dreams big, and he refuses to let anyone get his game.

This Side of Home
By:
Renee Watson
August 10, 2015
Reviewed by: Desi

Twin sisters find different ways to deal with the gentrification of their neighborhood in this novel that explores the black diaspora that exist in different areas of the black community. Great read for teens who are tuned into the challenges that exist within the melting pot of our society. This novel also deals with effective means of challenging authority and learning about the past as you move into a new future.

Skippy Dies
By:
Paul Murray
August 5, 2015
Reviewed by: Laura

Anyone that sees the cover of this Paul Murray novel can deduce that someone within its pages must be named Skippy and that, at some point, he must meet his demise. What readers won’t know until they delve further into this dark tragicomedy is whether Skippy’s history teacher Howard “The Coward” will ever gain his students’ respect or the affections of Miss McIntyre, if Skippy’s roommate Ruprecht’s string theory experiments will amount to anything, and most importantly, what Skippy meant when he wrote “Tell Lori” in strawberry syrup on the donut shop floor.

How to Start a Fire
By:
Lisa Lutz
August 1, 2015
Reviewed by: Nancy

At a college party one night, roommates Anna and Kate discover a passed-out Georgianna alone outside and decide to rescue her in a shopping cart. From this inauspicious beginning develops an enduring friendship among the three women. The tale of these quirky, spirited characters unfolds sporadically and quite unchronologically across decades. Two things will keep you turning the pages: figuring out what happened in the past, and wondering what comes next.

The Jewel
By:
Amy Ewing
July 29, 2015
Reviewed by: Kris

For fans of The Selection by Kiera Cass and The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. Violet is from the lost circle in society and will be sold to a royal family to help them reproduce because she is a surrogate. For an unknown reason, the royalty cannot reproduce on their own and need girls like Violet to carry the children. She will live in the lap of luxury, have fabulous clothes and attend many parties however, is essentially a slave.

Roller Girl
By:
Victoria Jamieson
July 27, 2015
Reviewed by: Kristin

When twelve-year-old Astrid attends her very first roller derby, she falls in love with the sport. She decides to sign up for a summer program, even though she has never really skated before. This new graphic novel is full of girl power. Fans of Raina Telgemeier’s Smile and Sisters will definitely want to check this title out!