The Jewel
By:
Amy Ewing
July 29, 2015
Reviewed by: Kris

For fans of The Selection by Kiera Cass and The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. Violet is from the lost circle in society and will be sold to a royal family to help them reproduce because she is a surrogate. For an unknown reason, the royalty cannot reproduce on their own and need girls like Violet to carry the children. She will live in the lap of luxury, have fabulous clothes and attend many parties however, is essentially a slave.

Roller Girl
By:
Victoria Jamieson
July 27, 2015
Reviewed by: Kristin

When twelve-year-old Astrid attends her very first roller derby, she falls in love with the sport. She decides to sign up for a summer program, even though she has never really skated before. This new graphic novel is full of girl power. Fans of Raina Telgemeier’s Smile and Sisters will definitely want to check this title out!

Disclaimer
By:
Renee Knight
July 24, 2015
Reviewed by: Robin

Looking for a good read for summer vacation? Have you read Gone Girl and A Girl on the Train and want something like that? Then this is the thriller for you; I really enjoyed this book for a variety of reasons - great plot, story and it actually had characters I liked! Give it a try and I hope you enjoy!

When to Rob a Bank
By:
Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner
July 21, 2015
Reviewed by: Lindsay

Freakonomics authors Levitt and Dubner are back, and this time they brought the internet with them. Drawing from material posted on their blog, the author’s have assembled their favorite posts and organized them into chapters based on a theme. Fans of Freakonomics can expect more of the writing style they have come to enjoy, while new readers can experience a sampling of stories and thought exercises ranging across the curiosity spectrum, like whether home teams really do have the advantage, or why don’t flight attendants receive tips?

Mama Miti: Wangari Maathi and the Trees of Kenya
By:
Donna Jo Napoli
July 18, 2015
Reviewed by: Desi

Mama Miti is a gorgeous picture book that tells the story of Wangari Maathi the first African woman to win the Nobel Peace Prize. Wangari developed a love of trees at an early age. As a woman she was respected for her knack for growing things. Village women would come to her for advice and help. Wangari’s advice always leads to the planting of more trees.

The Art of Fielding
By:
Chad Harbach
July 15, 2015
Reviewed by: Laura

Though this is a perfect read for baseball season, one need not be a baseball fan to appreciate it! The life circumstances of five residents of a small town in Michigan are altered dramatically when shortstop Henry Skrimshander commits an uncharacteristic play during a college game.

Borderline
By:
Liza Marklund
July 13, 2015
Reviewed by: Nancy

Swedish journalist Annika Bengtzon is settling back into her Stockholm office after a sojourn as a Washington, DC correspondent. But just as her current investigation is getting started, she learns that her husband Thomas has gone missing from his international conference in Kenya. Suddenly, her life is consumed with negotiations with kidnappers, ransom arrangements, and a hasty flight to Kenya--all while her newspaper expects her to provide exclusive coverage of her own unfolding ordeal!

The Royal We
By:
Heather Cooks and Jessica Morgan
July 9, 2015
Reviewed by: Kris

Royal watchers will love this one. The Royal We is loosely based on the romance of William and Kate. Rebecca Porter is an American studying at Oxford. Becoming royalty was the furthest thing from her mind when she met Nick, aka Prince Nicholas, heir to the throne. Falling in love with the future monarch is anything but a fairy tale. This is a fun and compelling read.

Once a Runner
By:
John L. Parker, Jr.
July 7, 2015
Reviewed by: Chrissie

Before this cult classic was reissued by a major publisher in 2009, you could buy a secondhand copy for hundreds of dollars. For many readers, the price was well worth it. The novel follows Quentin Cassidy, a runner full of heart, grit and humor as he trains to run a four-minute mile. If you’re a runner (and maybe if you’re not) you’ll find yourself lacing up your shoes after reading this one.

The Princess in Black
By:
Shannon Hale
June 30, 2015
Reviewed by: Kristin

For lovers of princesses who are tired of pink-clad damsels in distress, meet Princess Magnolia. When danger strikes, Magnolia trades in her princess regalia for a black mask and cape to become the monster-fighting Princess in Black! Light and silly, of a quality and difficulty level similar to that of Kate DiCamillo’s Mercy Watson books, here is a first chapter book for the ninja princess in your life!